Country ranking for field: maritime claims 2000

Other rankings:  

This entry includes the following claims, the definitions of which are excerpted from the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS), which alone contains the full and definitive descriptions:|territorial sea - the sovereignty of a coastal state extends beyond its land territory and internal waters to an adjacent belt of sea, described as the territorial sea in the UNCLOS (Part II); this sovereignty extends to the air space over the territorial sea as well as its underlying seabed and subsoil; every state has the right to establish the breadth of its territorial sea up to a limit not exceeding 12 nautical miles; the normal baseline for measuring the breadth of the territorial sea is the mean low-water line along the coast as marked on large-scale charts officially recognized by the coastal state; where the coasts of two states are opposite or adjacent to each other, neither state is entitled to extend its territorial sea beyond the median line, every point of which is equidistant from the nearest points on the baseline from which the territorial seas of both states are measured; the UNCLOS describes specific rules for archipelagic states.|contiguous zone - according to the UNCLOS (Article 33), this is a zone contiguous to a coastal state's territorial sea, over which it may exercise the control necessary to: prevent infringement of its customs, fiscal, immigration, or sanitary laws and regulations within its territory or territorial sea; punish infringement of the above laws and regulations committed within its territory or territorial sea; the contiguous zone may not extend beyond 24 nautical miles from the baselines from which the breadth of the territorial sea is measured (e.g., the US has claimed a 12-nautical mile contiguous zone in addition to its 12-nautical mile territorial sea); where the coasts of two states are opposite or adjacent to each other, neither state is entitled to extend its contiguous zone beyond the median line, every point of which is equidistant from the nearest points on the baseline from which the contiguous zone of both states are measured.|exclusive economic zone (EEZ) - the UNCLOS (Part V) defines the EEZ as a zone beyond and adjacent to the territorial sea in which a coastal state has: sovereign rights for the purpose of exploring and exploiting, conserving and managing the natural resources, whether living or non-living, of the waters superjacent to the seabed and of the seabed and its subsoil, and with regard to other activities for the economic exploitation and exploration of the zone, such as the production of energy from the water, currents, and winds; jurisdiction with regard to the establishment and use of artificial islands, installations, and structures; marine scientific research; the protection and preservation of the marine environment; the outer limit of the exclusive economic zone shall not exceed 200 nautical miles from the baselines from which the breadth of the territorial sea is measured.|continental shelf - the UNCLOS (Article 76) defines the continental shelf of a coastal state as comprising the seabed and subsoil of the submarine areas that extend beyond its territorial sea throughout the natural prolongation of its land territory to the outer edge of the continental margin, or to a distance of 200 nautical miles from the baselines from which the breadth of the territorial sea is measured where the outer edge of the continental margin does not extend up to that distance; the continental margin comprises the submerged prolongation of the landmass of the coastal state, and consists of the seabed and subsoil of the shelf, the slope and the rise; wherever the continental margin extends beyond 200 nautical miles from the baseline, coastal states may extend their claim to a distance not to exceed 350 nautical miles from the baseline or 100 nautical miles from the 2,500-meter isobath, which is a line connecting points of 2,500 meters in depth; it does not include the deep ocean floor with its oceanic ridges or the subsoil thereof.|exclusive fishing zone - while this term is not used in the UNCLOS, some states (e.g., the United Kingdom) have chosen not to claim an EEZ but rather to claim jurisdiction over the living resources off their coast; in such cases, the term exclusive fishing zone is often used; the breadth of this zone is normally the same as the EEZ or 200 nautical miles.

1flag of Saint LuciaSaint Lucia200 
2flag of AfghanistanAfghanistannone 
3flag of SlovakiaSlovakianone 
4flag of MaldivesMaldivesmeasured from claimed archipelagic baselines 
5flag of MaliMalinone 
6flag of MoldovaMoldovanone 
7flag of MongoliaMongolianone 
8flag of NepalNepalnone 
9flag of NigerNigernone 
10flag of Papua New GuineaPapua New Guineameasured from claimed archipelagic baselines 
11flag of Paracel IslandsParacel IslandsNA 
12flag of ParaguayParaguaynone 
13flag of RwandaRwandanone 
14flag of San MarinoSan Marinonone 
15flag of Serbia and MontenegroSerbia and MontenegroNA 
16flag of SloveniaSloveniaNA 
17flag of MacedoniaMacedonianone 
18flag of Solomon IslandsSolomon Islandsmeasured from claimed archipelagic baselines 
19flag of Spratly IslandsSpratly IslandsNA 
20flag of SwazilandSwazilandnone 
21flag of SwitzerlandSwitzerlandnone 
22flag of São Tomé and PríncipeSão Tomé and Príncipemeasured from claimed archipelagic baselines 
23flag of TajikistanTajikistannone 
24flag of TurkmenistanTurkmenistannone 
25flag of UgandaUgandanone 
26flag of UzbekistanUzbekistannone 
27flag of VanuatuVanuatumeasured from claimed archipelagic baselines 
28flag of West BankWest Banknone 
29flag of Western SaharaWestern Saharacontingent upon resolution of sovereignty issue 
30flag of ZambiaZambianone 
31flag of MalawiMalawinone 
32flag of MacauMacaunot specified 
33flag of AndorraAndorranone 
34flag of ChadChadnone 
35flag of AntarcticaAntarcticanone but see the Disputes - international entry 
36flag of ArmeniaArmenianone 
37flag of AustriaAustrianone 
38flag of AzerbaijanAzerbaijannone 
39flag of BelarusBelarusnone 
40flag of BhutanBhutannone 
41flag of BoliviaBolivianone 
42flag of Bosnia and HerzegovinaBosnia and HerzegovinaNA 
43flag of BotswanaBotswananone 
44flag of Burkina FasoBurkina Fasonone 
45flag of BurundiBurundinone 
46flag of Cabo VerdeCabo Verdemeasured from claimed archipelagic baselines 
47flag of Central African RepublicCentral African Republicnone 
48flag of Czech RepublicCzech Republicnone 
49flag of LuxembourgLuxembourgnone 
50flag of EritreaEritreaNA 
51flag of EthiopiaEthiopianone 
52flag of FijiFijimeasured from claimed archipelagic baselines 
53flag of Gaza StripGaza StripIsraeli-occupied with current status subject to the Israeli-Palestinian Interim Agreement - permanent status to be determined through further negotiation 
54flag of GeorgiaGeorgiaNA 
55flag of Holy SeeHoly Seenone 
56flag of HungaryHungarynone 
57flag of JamaicaJamaicameasured from claimed archipelagic baselines 
58flag of KazakhstanKazakhstannone 
59flag of KyrgyzstanKyrgyzstannone 
60flag of LaosLaosnone 
61flag of LesothoLesothonone 
62flag of LiechtensteinLiechtensteinnone 
63flag of ZimbabweZimbabwenone 

Back to statistical information of Macedonia 2000

You found a piece of the puzzle

Please click here to complete it